Institutional Cooperation

Institutional Cooperation

The association agreement that Turkey has with the EU serves as the basis for implementation of the accession process. Several institutions have been set up to ensure political dialogue and cooperation throughout the membership preparation process. 

Association Council
The Council is made up of representatives of the Turkish government, the European Council and the European Commission. It is instrumental in shaping and orienting Turkey-EU relations. Its aim is to implement the association agreement in political, economic and commercial issues. The Association Council meets twice a year at ministerial level. The Council takes decisions unanimously. Turkey and the EU side have one vote each.

Association Committee
The Association Committee brings together experts from EU and Turkey to examine Association related technical issues and to prepare the agenda of the Association Council. The negotiations chapters are discussed in 8 sub-committees organised as follows:  

  1. Agriculture and Fisheries Committee
  2. Internal Market and Competition Committee
  3. Trade, Industry and ECSC Products Committee
  4. Economic and Monetary Issues Committee
  5. Innovation Committee
  6. Transport, Environment and Energy Committee
  7. Regional Development, Employment and Social Policy Committee
  8. Customs, Taxation, Drug Trafficking and Money Laundering Committee

Joint Parliamentary Commission
Joint Parliamentary Commission is the control body of the Turkey-EU association. Its task is to analyze the annual activity reports submitted to it by the Association Council and to make recommendations on EU-Turkey Association related issues.
It consists of 18 members selected from the Turkish Grand National Assembly and the European Parliament, who meet twice a year.

Customs Union Joint Committee
The main task of CUJC is to establish a consultative procedure in order to ensure legislative harmonisation foreseen in the fields directly related to the functioning of the customs union between Turkey and the EU. CUJC makes recommendations to the Association Council. It is foreseen to meet regularly once a month.

Joint Consultative Committee
Joint Consultative Committee (JCC) was formed on 16 November 1995 in accordance with the Article 25 of the Ankara Agreement. The Committee aims to promote dialogue and cooperation between the economic and social interest groups in the European Community and Turkey and to facilitate the institutionalization of the partners of that dialogue in Turkey. Joint Consultative Committe has a mixed, cooperative and a two-winged structure: EU and Turkey wings. It has 36 members in total, composed of 18 Turkish and 18 EU representatives and it has two elected co-chairmen, one from the Turkish side and the other from the EU side.

EU Related Administrative Bodies in Turkish Administration

Secretariat General for European Union Affairs was established in July 2000 to ensure internal coordination and harmonisation in the preparation of Turkey for EU membership.

Undersecretariat of Foreign Trade EU Executive Board was established to ensure the direction, follow-up and finalisation of work carried out within the scope of the Customs Union and the aim of integration.