fbpx Belgium | EU Delegation to Turkey
Antwerp Belgium


Image : Anton_Ivanov / Shutterstock.com

Belgium is a federal state divided into three regions: Dutch-speaking Flanders in the north, francophone Wallonia in the south and Brussels, the bilingual capital, where French and Dutch share official status. There is also a small German-speaking minority in the eastern part of the country. Belgium’s varied landscape includes: 67 kilometres of sea coast and flat coastal plains along the North Sea, a central plateau and the rolling hills and forests of the Ardennes region in the south.



The most important sectors of Belgium’s economy in 2014 were public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (22.7 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (19.8 %) and industry (16.8 %).

Belgium’s main export partners are Germany, France and the Netherlands while its main import partners are the Netherlands, Germany and France.



Geographical size: 

30 528 km2


11 258 434 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

2.2 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 409.407 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 

Dutch, French and German

Political system: 

federal parliamentary constitutional monarchy

EU member country since: 

1 January 1958

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 1999

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 26 March 1995.

Presidency of the Council: 

Belgium has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1958 and 2010.