fbpx Croatia | EU Delegation to Turkey
Croatia Pula


Croatia borders Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia and has been an independent country since 1991. The country has a long and dramatic coastline with the Adriatic Sea, in which the country has over 1 000 islands and islets, of which just 48 are permanently inhabited.

The most important sectors of Croatia’s economy in 2014 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (21.2 %), industry (21.1 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (15.4 %).

Croatia’s main export partners are Italy, Bosnia & Herzegovina and Slovenia while its main import partners are Germany, Italy and Slovenia.



Geographical size: 

56 594 km2


4 225 316 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

0.8 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 43.897 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

1 July 2013

Seats in the European Parliament: 



Croatian Kuna HRK

Schengen area member? 

 No, Croatia is not a member of the Schengen Area.

Presidency of the Council: 

Croatia has so far not held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU.