fbpx Cyprus | EU Delegation to Türkiye
Paphos in Cyprus


Situated in the north-eastern part of the Mediterranean Sea and to the south of Türkiye, Cyprus is the largest island in the eastern Mediterranean as well as being the third smallest country in the EU, after Malta and Luxembourg. Cyprus joined the EU as a de facto divided island but the whole of Cyprus is EU territory. Turkish Cypriots are EU citizens as they are citizens of an EU country - the Republic of Cyprus - even if they live in a part of Cyprus not under government control.

The most important sectors of Cyprus’s economy in 2014 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (28.6 %), public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (20.7 %) and real estate (11.5 %).

Cyprus’s main export partners are Greece, the UK and Israel, while its main import partners are Greece, Israel and the UK.



Geographical size: 

9 251 km²


847 008 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

0.2 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 17.421 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

presidential republic

EU member country since: 

1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 2008

Schengen area member? 

 No, Cyprus is not a member a member of the Schengen Area.

Presidency of the Council: 

Cyprus has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once, in 2012.