fbpx Denmark | EU Delegation to Turkey
Copenhagen Denmark


Denmark is the smallest as well as the most southerly and most low-lying of the three Scandinavian countries and consists of the peninsula of Jutland and an archipelago of more than 400 islands of which 72 are inhabited. Denmark borders Germany to the south, is connected to Sweden by a road and rail bridge and has a tidal coastline of 7 314 km.

The most important sectors of Denmark’s economy in 2014 were public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (23.4 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (19.5 %) and industry (18.1 %).

Denmark’s main export partners are Germany, Sweden and the UK, while its main import partners are Germany, Sweden and the Netherlands.



Geographical size: 

42 924 km²


5 659 715 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

1.1 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 266.244 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

parliamentary constitutional monarchy

EU member country since: 

1 January 1973

Seats in the European Parliament: 



Danish krone DKK

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 25 March 2001.

Presidency of the Council: 

Denmark has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 7 times between 1973 and 2012.