fbpx Hungary | EU Delegation to Türkiye
Hungary Budapest


Hungary is a landlocked country in central Europe, which borders with no fewer than seven countries: Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria. The country is mostly flat, with low mountains in the north. 

The most important sectors of Hungary’s economy in 2014 were industry (26.4 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (18.5 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (17.5 %).

Hungary’s main export partners are Germany, Austria and Romania while its main import partners are Germany, Austria and Russia.



Geographical size: 

93 011 km2


9 855 571 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

1.9 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 108.748 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 



Hungarian Forint HUF

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.

Presidency of the Council: 

Hungary has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once in 2011.