fbpx Italy | EU Delegation to Türkiye
Italy Pisa


To the north, Italy borders France, Switzerland, Austria, and Slovenia, and its borders are largely naturally defined by the Alpine watershed. To the south, it consists of the entirety of the Italian Peninsula and the two largest Mediterranean islands of Sicily and Sardinia as well as around 68 smaller islands. There are two small independent states within Italy: the Vatican City in Rome, and the Republic of San Marino. 

The most important sectors of Italy’s economy in 2014 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.1 %), industry (18.5 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (17.2 %).

Italy’s main export partners are Germany, France and the US while its main import partners are Germany, France and China.



Geographical size: 

302 073 km2


60 795 612 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

12 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 1.636 trillion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

1 January 1958

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 1999

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 26 October 1997

Presidency of the Council: 

 Italy has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1959 and 2014.