fbpx Luxembourg | EU Delegation to Türkiye
Luxembourg city Luxembourg


The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is a landlocked country in northern Europe surrounded by Belgium to the west, France to the south and Germany to the east. Per capita, it is the richest country in the EU as well as being one of its smallest. It is largely made up of rolling hills and forests. 

The most important sectors of Luxembourg’s economy in 2013 were the financial and insurance activities (26.9 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (17.4 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (16.1 %).

Luxembourg’s main export partners are Germany, France and Belgium while its main import partners are Belgium, Germany and France.



Geographical size: 

2 586 km2


562 958 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

0.1 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 52.112 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 

French, German

Political system: 

parliamentary constitutional monarchy

EU member country since: 

1 January 1958

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 1999

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 26 March 1995.

Presidency of the Council: 

Luxembourg has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU 12 times between 1960 and 2015.