fbpx Malta | EU Delegation to Türkiye
Valletta Malta


Malta comprises an archipelago of five islands in the Central Mediterranean Sea, south of the Italian island of Sicily, east of Tunisia and north of Libya. Malta is one of the world's smallest and most densely populated countries.

The most important sectors of Malta’s economy in 2014 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (22.3 %), public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (19.4 %) and industry (12.3 %).

Malta’s main export partners are Germany, Hong Kong and France, while its main import partners are Italy, the US and the UK.



Geographical size: 

315 km2


429 344 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

0.1 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 8.796 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 

Maltese, English

Political system: 

 parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

 1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 2008

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.

Presidency of the Council: 

 Malta will hold the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU for the first time in 2017.