fbpx Poland | EU Delegation to Turkey
Warsaw in Poland


Poland is a country in central Europe, bordered by Germany to the west, the Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south, Ukraine and Belarus to the east and, to the north, Lithuania and the Russian exclave of Kaliningrad. Poland has a long coast on the Baltic Sea and is largely dominated by low-lying rolling plains in the north. To the south, the Carpathian Mountains form a watershed and natural border with Slovakia.

The most important sectors of Poland’s economy in 2014 were wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (27.1 %), industry (25.1 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (14.3 %).

Poland’s main export partners are Germany, UK and the Czech Republic while its main import partners are Germany, Russia and China.



Geographical size: 

312 679 km2


38 005 614 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

7.5 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 427.737 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

 parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

 1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Polish Złoty PLN

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.

Presidency of the Council: 

  Poland has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once in 2011.