fbpx Slovakia | EU Delegation to Turkey
Bratislava in Slovakia


Slovakia is a country in eastern central Europe and is bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The Carpathian Mountains extend across the northern half of the country and include the High Tatras, which provide a natural watershed between Slovakia and Poland. In the southern half of the country are the lowlands of the Danube plain.

The most important sectors of Slovakia’s economy in 2014 were industry (24.7 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (22.4 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (14.5 %).

Slovakia’s main export partners are Germany, the Czech Republic and Poland while its main import partners are Germany, the Czech Republic and Austria.



Geographical size: 

49 035 km2


5 421 349 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

1.1 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 78.071 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

 parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

 1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 



 Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 2009

Schengen area member? 

 Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.

Presidency of the Council: 

Slovakia currently holds the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU. This is the first time Slovakia holds the presidency.