fbpx Slovenia | EU Delegation to Türkiye
Bled in Slovenia


Situated in southern Central Europe, Slovenia borders Italy to the west, Austria to the north, Croatia to the south and southeast, and Hungary to the northeast. The north of the country is dominated by the Alps, while in the southwest, the Karst Plateau is a region filled with limestone caves and gorges. Slovenia has a coastline of 46.6 km by the Adriatic Sea between Italy and Croatia.

The most important sectors of Slovenia’s economy in 2014 were industry (27.1 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.4 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (17.0 %)

Slovenia’s main export and import partners are Germany, Italy and Austria.



Geographical size: 

20 273 km2


2 062 874 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

0.4 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 38.543 billion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 

1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 



Euro. Member of the eurozone since 1 January 2007

Schengen area member? 

Yes, Schengen Area member since 21 December 2007.

Presidency of the Council: 

Slovenia has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU once in 2008.