View of London UK

The United Kingdom

The United Kingdom (UK) consists of England, Wales, Scotland (which collectively make up Great Britain) and Northern Ireland. The UK’s geography is varied, and includes cliffs along some coastlines, highlands and lowlands and hundreds of islands off the western and northern coasts of Scotland.

The most important sectors of the UK’s economy in 2014 were public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (18.3 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (18.4 %) and industry (13.5 %).

The UK’s main export partners are Germany, the US and the Netherlands, while its main import partners are Germany, China and USA.



Geographical size: 

248 528 km2


64 875 165 (2015)

Population as % of total EU: 

12.8 % (2015)

Gross domestic product (GDP): 

€ 2.569 trillion (2015)

Official EU language(s): 


Political system: 

parliamentary constitutional monarchy

EU member country since: 

1 January 1973

Seats in the European Parliament: 



pound sterling GBP

Schengen area member? 

No, the UK is not a member of the Schengen Area.

Presidency of the Council: 

the UK has held the revolving presidency of the Council of the EU FR••• 5 times between 1977 and 2005.